Home / Blog / Post

We read that genre, too!

Books on this site range from historical romance and westerns to romantic suspense, thrillers, inspirational, paranormal, sweet contemporary, and cozy mystery. We like all kinds!

Explore Bookish Delights at Books & Benches

Includes posts from The Captivating Quill, now part of B&B

Join us & discover books!

Any adventure you could possibly imagine can be found between the covers of a book. 

A Reader's Opinion: A FEVER OF THE BLOOD by Oscar de Muriel


THE BOOK

A READER'S OPINION

Spooky, violent, and fantastic! A FEVER OF THE BLOOD by Oscar de Muriel is the first book I've read by this author, but it won't be the last. I was drawn to the book by the title, the description, and the amazing cover. The author did not disappoint this new-to-him reader. Historic Edinburgh is the perfect setting for the dark story that emerges. There were a few parts that were slow and didn't hold my attention but the author drew me in with his descriptions and characters. I felt the blizzard against my skin and I could picture McGray and Frey on the hunt. They are both excellent characters, even when Frey is being a pain. McGray was my favorite and so well-written. The supernatural elements were perfectly woven into this historical tale with plenty of skin-crawling and nail-biting moments.

It is dark and violent but if you enjoy a good thriller and well-plotted story, then give A FEVER OF THE BLOOD a try.

This book is part of a series, but is written as a stand-alone novel. I plan to go back and read book one.

Star Rating: 4 1/2 Stars | Reviewed by: Kaylie Morgan

BUY AT AMAZON | VIEW OUR RATING SYSTEM

Add to Goodreads

BOOK SYNOPSIS

This riveting new detective novel evokes a spellbinding concoction of crime, history, and horror—perfect for fans of Arthur Conan Doyle and P.D. James.

New Year's Day, 1889. In Edinburgh's lunatic asylum, a patient escapes as a nurse lays dying. Leading the manhunt are legendary local Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray and Londoner-in-exile Inspector Ian Frey. Before the murder, the suspect was heard in whispered conversation with a fellow patient—a girl who had been mute for years. What made her suddenly break her silence? And why won't she talk again? Could the rumours about black magic be more than superstition? McGray and Frey track a devious psychopath far beyond their jurisdiction, through the worst blizzard in living memory, into the shadow of Pendle Hill—home of the Lancashire witches—where unimaginable danger awaits.

Print Length: 432 pages

Publisher: Pegasus Books

Publication Date: April 4, 2017

Do you like Books & Benches? Follow us on Twitter at @booksandbenches and like us on Facebook!

Receive our weekly roundup of posts, reviews, interviews, and special deals directly in your inbox.

Delivered once a week—no spam.

Format Read: E-Book | Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley.

VIEW FTC DISCLAIMER REGARDING BOOK REVIEWS

#AReadersOpinion #HistoricalMystery #HistoricalFiction #MysteryThriller #412Stars #2017Review #ReviewersTopPick #EditorRecommended

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, we will receive an affiliate commission. We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Books and Benches

 This website is privately owned. It is run by a dedicated group of volunteers whose primary goal is to have fun while talking about one of our favorite things—books!

© 2017-2020 by BOOKS & BENCHES | View Policies and Site Info.

Website by Potterton Creative