THIS GUN FOR HIRE by Jo Goodman - A Reader's Opinion


THIS GUN FOR HIRE by Jo Goodman

A Reader's Opinion


A witty and rousing western romance from a talented writer.


When it comes to enjoying a story, I look primarily at the story itself and the characters. In the case of This Gun for Hire, both were a hit. I spent a couple of lazy weekend mornings in bed just to finish, and it was well worth my time.


Goodman has a talent for perfectly balance romance with adventure, wit with seriousness, wickedness with tenderness, and independence with partnership, and she does so in a way that keeps the reader guessing and wanting more.

I love Quill McKenna as the hero. He is just the right amount of tough and tender. Calico Nash makes for an interesting heroine, and her chemistry with Quill is spot on. I enjoyed the conversations with between the primary and secondary characters; plenty of humor and sarcasm. You do have to pay attention or you might miss who is saying what, but the witty dialogue is perfect.


If you're in the mood for a rollicking good time, then pick up a Jo Goodman western romance novel. Be warned, the book is super steamy.

 

This Gun for Hire

McKenna Novels, Book 1


Jo Goodman, a premier writer of western romance and the author of In Want of a Wife, is back with a sensational new novel for fans of Linda Lael Miller and Joan Johnston.


He’s got a job to do…


Former army cavalryman Quill McKenna takes pride in protecting the most powerful man in Stonechurch, Colorado: Mr. Ramsey Stonechurch himself. But the mine owner has enemies, and after several threats on his life, mines, and family, Quill decides to hire someone to help guard the boss’s daughter. Only problem is the uncontrollable attraction he feels toward the fiery-haired woman who takes the job.


…but she’s a piece of work.


Calico Nash has more knowledge of scouting and shooting than cross-stitching, but she agrees to pose as Ann’s private tutor while protecting her. But between her growing attraction to Quill and the escalating threats against the Stonechurches, Calico will soon have a choice to make—hang on to her hard-won independence or put her faith in Quill to create the kind of happy ending she never imagined…

 


Book Info

Genre: Historical Western Romance

Release: April 7, 2015

Publisher: Berkley

Format Read: Paperback

Source: Reader's personal library

Reviewed by: MK

Content Rating: 5 Hearts—Pull out your fans and grab a glass of ice-cold water because this book is steaming hot! One or more graphic sex scenes.


NOTE: Ratings are only provided for content (sex, violence, language, etc.). We do not give star ratings on this blog, though reviewers may do so on retail outlets and Goodreads. We review and share only those books we have enjoyed and think others will enjoy, too. Learn more.


Ensuring the sparks between you and books never fades_BooksandBenches.com

This book was reviewed on the original Books & Benches site, and has been reposted on the new blog for indexing purposes, and to give new life to an older book. Star ratings are removed from reposted reviews.

COMMENTS: Website members and guests may comment (spam will be removed), however . . . Is there a post you really like? A book or author you want to know more about? We encourage you to support the author(s) by connecting directly with them on their website and/or social pages. There's nothing better than going right to the source!

 

GIVEAWAYS: If there isn't a giveaway form on a post, then the winner(s) will be randomly selected from among current B&B subscribers. Learn more →

Book Review Disclaimer: When a book is provided by an author or publisher, the book is a complimentary copy and there is no expectation for a positive review, or a review of any kind. Since we only post reviews for books we enjoy, you can be sure you are getting the reviewer's unbiased opinion. We provide the book source for disclosure purposes only. No payment is received in exchange for any review.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, we may receive an affiliate commission for qualified purchases. This does not cost you, the consumer, anything, and helps us keep this blog operational. We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”