THE LIGHT AT WYNDCLIFF by Sarah E. Ladd - A Reader's Opinion


THE LIGHT AT WYNDCLIFF by Sarah E. Ladd

A Reader's Opinion


Atmospheric, mysterious, and romantic, Sarah E. Ladd's The Light at Wyndcliff, delivers a soothing escape with interesting characters and a beautiful setting.

Sweeping across the wild coast, the third book in Ladd's Cornwall series offers a slow-build to a tender romance between Liam and Evelyn, but she doesn't stop there. There is a nice little mystery of events mixed in to create an engaging tale that draws the reader in and captures the heart. Her settings are depicted so well that I walked along the beach, stood on the cliffs, witnessed a shipwreck, and even ventured into the village right alongside the characters.


Readers of heartfelt historical romance will enjoy Ladd's ability to transport them to another time and place. I can always count on Ladd to to deliver a wonderful story, and she never disappoints. The Cornwall series, with its crisp writing and sweet romance is sure to delight the discerning reader.

 

The Light at Wyndcliff

A Cornwall Novel


Perfect for fans of Poldark and Bridgerton, this Regency romance evokes the captivating worlds and delightful dramas as treacherous to navigate as the rocky English shores.


Cornwall, England, 1820


Raised on the sprawling and rugged Wyndcliff Estate near the dangerous coast of South Cornwall, Evelyn Bray lives with her grandfather, a once-wealthy man now reduced to the post of steward. Evelyn is still grieving her father’s death and her mother’s abandonment when a passing ship is dashed against the rocks.


Liam Twethewey is a mere two and twenty when he inherits Wyndcliff Estate from his great uncle. His optimistic plans to employ the estate’s tenants meets unexpected resistance, and rumors of smuggling and illegal activity challenge his newfound authority.


Brought together by troubling questions surrounding the shipwreck, Evelyn and Liam uncover even darker mysteries shrouding the estate. But as they untangle truth from deception, their loyalties separate them—and their budding love might not be strong enough to overcome the distance.

 

Amazon | Bookshop

 

Book Info

Genre: Historical Christian Romance/Regency

Release: October 13, 2020

Pages: 313pp

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Format Read: Paperback

Source: Reader's personal library

Reviewed by: MK

Content Rating: 1 Heart—Aww! We love those sweet, clean kisses. This is a clean read appropriate for all audiences.


NOTE: Ratings are only provided for content (sex, violence, language, etc.). We do not give star ratings on this blog, though reviewers may do so on retail outlets and Goodreads. We review and share only those books we have enjoyed and think others will enjoy, too. Learn more.


Ensuring the sparks between you and books never fades_BooksandBenches.com

COMMENTS: Website members and guests may comment (spam will be removed), however . . . Is there a post you really like? A book or author you want to know more about? We encourage you to support the author(s) by connecting directly with them on their website and/or social pages. There's nothing better than going right to the source!

 

GIVEAWAYS: If there isn't a giveaway form on a post, then the winner(s) will be randomly selected from among current B&B subscribers. Learn more →

Book Review Disclaimer: When a book is provided by an author or publisher, the book is a complimentary copy and there is no expectation for a positive review, or a review of any kind. Since we only post reviews for books we enjoy, you can be sure you are getting the reviewer's unbiased opinion. We provide the book source for disclosure purposes only. No payment is received in exchange for any review.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, we may receive an affiliate commission for qualified purchases. This does not cost you, the consumer, anything, and helps us keep this blog operational. We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”